Process excess

Back to blogging after time off to complete my final digital media/Web class projects and to have Christmas. My writing tip for today: Avoid the needless “in the process of,” which I saw most recently in the Sunday New York Times Magazine — “Right around the time she [Betsy Blair] was nominated for her Oscar, she was in the process of leaving Gene Kelly.” So: “She was leaving Gene Kelly.” (You’re not in the process of reading this post; you’re reading it.)

One Response to “Process excess”

  1. Curtis Chambers Says:

    I really enjoy this topic. Uh oh, I could of left out “really.” I was an English major, so I have to be vigilant for overly long sentences, extra commas, overuse of adjectives and adverbs, and the ilk. I look forward to reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

